databases

by subject

NEW!
new-york-times-logo-1.jpg
Inside the library: Click here. You will need to register the first time you access the New York Times. You have unlimited access when inside the library, using either the library computers or your own device connected to the library's wifi. You must have a public library card for access.
Outside the library: Click here. This subscription only allows 30 offsite users at a time within Yavapai County. Each offsite user has access for 24 hours. You must have a public library card for access, and you will need to register the first time you access the New York Times.
JobNow.png
JobNow (by Brainfuse). Live, anytime, anywhere job assistance, including up-to-date nation-wide and local job search engines, professional resume critique and proven interview techniques. Experience personalized career center seamlessly integrated with advanced virtual technology to help job seekers of diverse backgrounds and needs. Library Card is required.

Search all Gale Databases

Power Search.png

Gale Virtual Reference Library Search a collection of hundreds of online reference books. Great for homework.

Automotive Repair

ChiltonLibrary A great auto repair solution for the “do-it-yourselfer” that is easy to use no matter the skill level. Repair, maintenance and specification tables provide critical data on thousands of domestic and imported models of cars and light trucks from 1940 onward.

Business

refusa.png

referenceUSA Arizonans can explore thousands of online articles and images from popular magazines, scholarly journals, current newspapers and other reference works through their public and school library websites.

Digital Arizona Library

Digital Arizona Library Arizonans can explore thousands of online articles and images from popular magazines, scholarly journals, current newspapers and other reference works.

E-Books, Magazines, and Newspapers

Libby The Libby app is the easiest way to get started with digital books and audiobooks from your public library.

ebrary Online digital library of full texts of over 100,000 scholarly eBooks. Includes sheet music and Government documents.

Open Library Internet archive that provides access to many public domain and out-of-print books.

RBdigital Your library's collection of popular digital magazines includes both new and backlist titles with no holds, no checkout periods, and no limits.

Overdrive Download eBooks and audiobooks for all ages.

Education & Student Resources

test prep.jpg

Peterson's Career Prep Find and Prepare for a Career. Choosing a career path doesn't come easy. Whether you're heading straight into the workforce or you're entering college first, our career tools help you get a handle on what you're interested in, the skills and training you'll need, and what you can expect from your career path. Discover which careers suit you best, research potential career options, and explore the requirements and outlooks for the occupations you're interested in.

index.jpg

Peterson's Test and Career Prep Find all the tools you need to discover your passion, ace your exams, and excel in your career. Over 100 practice tests & courses

index.png

 Gale Presents: Udemy* offers more than 12,000 high-quality, on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors across 75 categories for upskilling in the areas of business, technology, and design. Your patrons can also achieve personal success with courses on health and well-being, the arts, language learning, and more

Genealogy

Ancestry Library Edition In-library use only. Genealogy research. Find your family in a variety of records, including census, birth, marriage, & death.

General Reference

Onefile.png
index.jpg
index.jpg
General Onefile.png

Academic OneFile Working on a research paper? Try this database! It offers coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering, and business, plus full-text access to the London Times, Financial Times, and current issues of The New York Times.

Britannica Library An online Britannica Encyclopedia

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship is a comprehensive database that covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more.

Gale Business: Plan Builder. Entrepreneurs and existing business owners need access to a wide variety of information associated with planning, starting or managing a small business or nonprofit. With Gale Business: Plan Builder, your library can offer a direct path to select Gale business and legal resources that you subscribe to, making them even more discoverable.

General OneFile Provides periodical and news information through an intuitive, user-friendly search interface for researchers at all levels.

index.jpg

Home Improvement Reference Center. Through a collection of comprehensive full-text content, this database provides do-it-yourselfers with detailed, user-friendly “how-to” information covering a variety of home improvement and repair projects.

News.png

OneFile News An innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. 

Hobbies/Crafts

index.jpg

Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center. This database offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines.

Homework

Biography.png

Biography A comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Books and Authors.png

Books & Authors This great resource allows you to browse through genres, authors, or titles. With the B&A "Who, What, Where, When" tool you can find exactly the kind of book you're looking for! 

Global.png

Global Issues Provides users with the tools they need to understand today’s world issues from a global perspective.

Student Resources.png

High School  offers cross-curricular content that supports national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Explore topics within business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more.

Opposing.png

Opposing Viewpoints Viewpoint (pro/con) articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, & newspaper articles on controversial topics.

Science.png

Science Articles about science topics

US History.png

U.S. History Search this overview of our nation's past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.

World.png

World History Integrates full-text periodicals, reference materials, primary source documents and more into a broad collection searchable history collection. 

Jobs

Career Transitions Provides hands-on guidance and access to job search activities.

Kids

itke-web.png

Elementary A content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use resource featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics.

Legal

Legal.png

Gale Legal Forms Provides convenient, authoritative means for understanding common legal procedures through access to “attorney forms”.

HeinOnline Search 100 million pages of legal history. provides comprehensive coverage of more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals. 

Literature & Language

Literature.png

Literature Resource Center Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.

index.jpg

Literature: Scribner Writer Series Browse original scholarly essays on authors from around the world. Places authors and their works in personal and historical context.

index.jpg

Literature: Twayne's Author Series Find in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers. Includes influences of literary movements.

mango-languages-logo.png

Mango Languages  Learn to speak different languages, including Spanish, French, Japanese and more!  Look for the Mango Mobile app for Apple devices and the Mango Mobile app for Android.

azlibrary-novelist150.png

NoveList Plus A comprehensive book database with reading lists, readalikes, and more!

index.png

Talking Book Library including audio books and magazines; movies with audio descriptions and Braille books and magazines by postage free mail